all articles

Jules Bianchi

Race Driver #22

Full Name: Jules Bianchi
Age: 23 years
Nationality: French
Date of Birth: 3 August 1989
Born: Nice, France
Vital statistics: Height 179cms, Weight 69 kgs
First started Single-Seater racing: 2007, French Formula Renault

Racing career

Formula 1 - Race Driver, Marussia F1 Team

Formula 1 - Reserve Driver, Sahara Force India F1 Team & Ferrari Driver Academy
Formula Renault 3.5 Series - Tech 1 Racing, 2nd in Championship, 3 wins, 5 pole positions

Formula 1 - Test Driver, Scuderia Ferrari & Ferrari Driver Academy
GP2 Series - Lotus ART, 3rd in Championship, 1 win, 1 pole position
GP2 Asia Series - Lotus ART, 2nd in Championship, 1 win

GP2 Series - ART Grand Prix, 3rd in Championship, 3 pole positions

Formula 3 Euro Series - ART Grand Prix, Championship winner, 9 race wins, 6 pole positions & Macau Grand Prix

Formula 3 Euro Series - ART Grand Prix, 3rd in Championship (Best rookie), 2 wins, 2 pole positions
Macau Grand Prix and Winner of the Masters of Formula 3 in Zolder

French Formula Renault 2.0 - SG Formula, Championship winner, 5 wins, 5 pole positions


How did you first get the motor racing bug?
Jules: I have grown up in racing circles. My grandfather Mauro was three times World Champion in the GT category and my great uncle Lucien competed in the 24 Hrs of Le Mans and also drove in Formula 1 between 1959-1968. You might say racing is in my blood.

This is your first season racing in Formula 1, but you had done a great deal of mileage before your testing debut for the Marussia F1 Team, correct?
Jules: Yes, Australia will be my Formula 1 racing debut but the total of my previous FP1, Testing and Young Driver mileage for Ferrari and Force India is quite significant.

What are you career highlights so far?
Jules: My 2009 Euroseries F3 title with ART Grand Prix. Aside from that, being part of the Ferrari Driver Academy, a Formula 1 Reserve Driver and, now, of course, becoming a Formula 1 Race Driver for the Marussia F1 Team.

How do you prepare for a race?
Jules: I stay focused on the long game and what I need to do over a season, as well as trying to do my best in an individual race.

How many languages do you speak?
Jules: French, English and Italian.

What is your idea of a perfect weekend?
Jules: I suppose it doesn’t get any better than a weekend where I have secured pole position, the win and the fastest lap!

What is your favourite movie?
Jules: Ocean's 11.

What is your favourite kind of music?
Jules: I like Dance music as it gives positive ideas!

What is your favourite holiday destination?
Jules: Corsica, France.

What is your favourite colour?
Jules: Orange.

What is one of your stand-out qualities?
Jules: I would say that I get along well with people, so I am probably easy to work with (I think!)

Which people in your life have had the greatest influence on you?
Jules: My grandfather and my parents.